My Sixth Blog

Nearly 5 years ago, I went to my fiancé’s house for the first time. For whatever reason, I had brought the movie “Moulin Rouge!” over for us to watch. I told him about how I never cried at anything except for that movie and a handful of others. I guess I was just trying to show him my sensitive side on our first date. It didn’t do much help, he didn’t care about me crying, and quite frankly–neither did I. The point is that I made such a big deal about my inability to show emotion.

SIDENOTE: If you’ve never seen “Moulin Rouge!” I highly suggest that you get on that ASAP. Watch the whole thing. The beginning is a lot to handle because so much is going on and it’s so fast, but trust me. It’s beautiful.

Fast forward to today.

I cry at literally everything.

Not just “Moulin Rouge!” or “Marley & Me.” I’m talking about every Disney/Pixar movie ever released. I’m talking about 90% of the commercials that I see on TV. I’m talking about every single episode of This Is Us.

SIDENOTE: Any commercial that features a screaming goat is the BEST commercial and will highly increase my chances of buying your product. Thank you Doritos, Geico, and Discover for bringing me such joy.

There’s a lot of negativity and darkness in this world right now. I get so upset when I scroll through Facebook at all the aggression, the political tirades, and the hate-fueled speech. There are times where I have to close out of Facebook and take several deep breaths just to get my shit together again.

When I see the smallest bit of kindness, or something with a positive message, I feel compelled to cry. My eyes well, the tears fall, and the whimpering begins. I’ll attribute my crying to “finding joy in the little things,” I guess.

P.S. I have to post the Doritos commercial–it’s my favorite commercial of all time.
4 thoughts on “My Sixth Blog

  1. Thanks for sharing the commercial. I now have to look up the Geico and Discover ones now… I’ve always been emotional over everything. I used to hate it, but I’ve just grown to accept it. I watched a movie on Netflix last night that was based on a true story and I cried through about 1/4 of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How can you NOT cry during This is Us!!!!! OMG such a great show. You arent the only man that loses it over shows and movies! I cry at the end of Sister Act II. LOL

    Like

  3. I can identify here, for me the turning point was having my son. But the world is a truly scary and horrible place right now. I can’t even begin to imagine how much worse that must be for you, living in America with everything right now.

    Also, I’ve not seen moulin rouge. We was talking about that tonight strangely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

