My Third Blog

There is nothing I am more grateful for than my dog. Sadie has gotten me through so much in the short time I’ve known her, that I’m forever indebted to her. However, this blog is not about her. This blog is about the dogs of my past. Who I’ve had to say goodbye to, and have promised to someday see again at the Rainbow Bridge. This post is for Holly. For Schatzie. For Chloe.

Why am I doing this? Recently Sadie has shown behaviors that remind me of the dogs that I loved (and still love) before I met her. I can’t get them out of my head lately. The sound of their barks, their whines, the way they’d acted when I’d go for the treat jar–all flooding my head with memories. Some happy, some sad.

Dear Holly,

You were my first dog as a child. You looked out for me just as I’d looked out for you. You and I had so many moments that I’ll never forget. One night you were sleeping in my bed facing me. It was during a difficult time of my life, and out of nowhere, you put your paw on my shoulder, and looked me deep in the eyes. It was in that moment that I knew I was going to be okay. That no matter what the situation, I would be okay. I put my face against Sadie’s now–just like I used to do with you. Every time I do this I think of you fondly. I love you Holly. Until we meet again at the Rainbow Bridge.


Dear Schatzie,

You and I didn’t get along much when I was a little kid. You’d bite my nose because I got too close. You’d growl at me because I wasn’t petting you correctly. As I grew older, so did you. We grew a lot closer, and soon enough you’d be sharing my bed with me every night. I talked to you a lot. Voiced my feelings, my problems, and thoughts. Whether you were conscious of it or not, you were so important to me. Sadie licks things a lot–just like you did. I’ll catch her licking the wall and I’ll immediately think of you, and then tell her to stop. You know I’ve always hated the sound. I love you Schatzie. Until we meet again at the Rainbow Bridge.


Dear Chloe,

You were MY first dog. It was different with you. I finally had the relationship with a dog that my dad had with Holly, and my stepmom with Schatzie. We knew exactly what each other wanted and needed. It kills me how soon you were taken from us. We thought we had years, but we only had months. I do not feel guilty about making that decision because I saw how much pain you were in. We were told the cancer would return and that at best, you had 3 months left. You gave us 6. You powered through, you fought your very best, and I will forever be so proud of you. You are my inspiration to keep going forward, no matter how the odds are stacked. Sadie has that fighting spirit too. She’s small, but tough. You would have loved her. I love you Chloe. Until we meet again at the Rainbow Bridge.

9 thoughts on “My Third Blog

  1. Never had a dog, though I’ve always wanted one (blame it on my mom and our small living space). You are a very expressive writer. I wish, with more practice, I can easily write out what I’m feeling exactly, like you seem to do… Say hi to Sadie! 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can feel the raw emotion! Some seriously great and powerful writing there. They all sound like amazing dogs and it’s great to see how much of an impact they all had on you. Damn those people who say “it’s only a dog”. They’re incredible creatures. I get that and I’ve never had one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

