My First Blog

Does anybody still read these? I’m not sure. I suppose it doesn’t matter because this is not for you. I’m starting this for me. The simple explanation is that I’ve been struggling a lot lately, emotionally. By no means am I crying for help–I’m just using writing as a vice to get these feelings off my chest, and to send them out of my life. Thanks Internet!

I wish I could say that this will be a blog about _______. Can’t do it. Sometimes I want to write short stories. Sometimes I want to write poems. Sometimes I want to write about planning my wedding. Consider this my published diary.

Here’s a little about me so that you know what voice is behind these words.

I’m a gay* white male in my early 20s. I have a fiancé, Brett, a dog, Sadie, and a home in a tiny town in Northern Illinois. For what it’s worth, Sadie was my first choice in a fiancé, but I suppose that would be frowned upon.

I don’t know what to expect from this either. Wedding posts, dog posts, general ramblings, etc. Read on, or don’t. Like I said–this is for me.

Instead of turning to alcohol, drugs, or other undesirable vices, I will write. Maybe, just maybe–I will be the person I’ve always dreamed of being.

Here we go.

*I have to say gay because:

A) That’s a pretty important fact about me. It’s just easier to get it out of the way now than deal with confusion later.

B) If I only said “white male in my early 20s” what the hell would I have to complain about? Nobody would continue reading.

13 thoughts on “My First Blog

  1. I really like your honesty and my blog is one of those random ones too. Always nice to find other people who write that way. I started about 6 months ago and it has helped. I hope this helps you as well! I look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am a random as well and only write for myself. Others may or may not enjoy it, who cares! I hope life lands you where you want to be, good luck in all you do! Oh and give your fur baby a scratch behind the ear, she is now famous after all 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello, and welcome to WordPress! I love dogs, so would happily peruse a photo album full of Sadie. I’m sure you’ll figure out a ‘theme’ for your blog as you go along. Or maybe you won’t, and it will simply be an anthology of You. That’s fine too. Hope you have a great time exploring the community here, and blogging as part of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome to this blogosphere! Like you, I consider my blog as some sort of a published diary. I like how you started your firsts posts… First blog, second blog, third blog… And how well you introduced yourself! At first I was reading your post in a voice I imagined as someone belonging to a guy named Nick, and when I got to the part where you said described yourself, the voice in my head changed into something less serious and the mood was lighter… cheerful… gay. (You know what I mean? About the voice in your head? Hehe) Great start and please keep writing, see you ’round! 🌻

    Like

  4. You had me sold after the first couple of sentences, brother! I’m totally on your wavelength. If writing is your therapy in this cruel world then you’ll fit right in here regardless of gender, age, sexual orientation, religion…fuck, even if you’re an alien! Bring forth your knowledge! Write what you feel; that’s exactly what I do. Hope you’ll check out my blog sometime or at least follow back out of sheer kindness, though I’m always on the hunt for enlightening discussion. Best of luck to you buddy

    Like

      1. Same here. I’m sure we’ve all had to soak up some hatred from a troll or two with nothing better to do than bring people down. Luckily, I haven’t come across any in five months of blogging. You’re definitely in the right place here

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Dude, you are awesome and yes there are people like me that still read these. I can not wait to see what you write about next. Sounds like you have a strong foundation in life and you need to keep that going. As long as YOU are happy that is what counts the most. -Bruce

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

